GRADUATE COUNCIL Minutes of the Meeting of September 18, 2014

3:30 p.m., Room 207, Guillot University Center

The Graduate Council met on Thursday, September 18, 2014, at 3:30 p.m. in Room 207 of the Guillot University Center. Dr. Wendy Darby, Chairperson, presided. The following members were present: Dr. Paulette Alexander, Dr. Lynn Aquadro, Dr. Birdie Bailey, Dr. Sarah Franklin for Dr. Carolyn Barske, Ms. Melissa Bolton, Dr. Chris Maynard for Dr. Carmen Burkhalter, Dr. Thomas Calhoun, Dr. Greg Carnes, Ms. Jill Chambers, Dr. Melvin Davis, Dr. Kelly Latchaw, Dr. Donna Lefort, Dr. Sandra Loew, Dr. Craig Robertson, and Dr. Leah Whitten. Attending as guests were: Ms. Hillary Coats, Dr. Beth Sewell, Dr. Tom Coates, Dr. Katie Kinney, and Ms. Toysan Reed.

Approval of the minutes of the meeting of July 8

Dr. Loew moved approval and Ms. Bolton seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Election of Vice Chair

Dr. Loew nominated Dr. Leah Whitten. No further nominations were made. Dr. Leah Whitten was elected by acclamation.

Consideration of Graduate Faculty Applications for Dr. Matthew Duques, Dr. Mario Mighty, and Dr. Brenna Wardell

Ms. Bolton moved approval and Dr. Latchaw seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the request from Professional and Interdisciplinary Studies for the creation of 14 new courses and a new area of specialization within the MPS degree program: Higher Education Administration

Ms. Chambers moved approval and Ms. Bolton seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. This proposal will require ACHE approval.

Composition of the Graduate Advisory Council

Dr. Latchaw made a motion and Ms. Bolton seconded the motion approving the Graduate Advisory Council with the proposed charge and a revised composition as noted in the attachment to these minutes. The motion was approved unanimously. Once the Graduate Advisory Council has been appointed by the President, Dean Lefort was asked to convene the first meeting and oversee the selection of a chair and the scheduled rotation.

Upon motion by Dr. Loew, the meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Wendy Darby, Chairperson