Board of Trustees

The governing control of the University is vested in a Board of Trustees established by action of the State Legislature (HB 650, Act No. 773, September 9, 1967, Alabama Code Section 16-51-1 through 16-51-15 [1975] [1987]). The Board is composed of the Governor as president ex officio, the State Superintendent of Education as a member ex officio, and nine members--six within the area comprising the fourth and fifth congressional districts and three from the State at large. The trustees are appointed by the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the State Senate, and hold office for a term of 12 years or until their successors are appointed and qualified. 

The President of the Student Government Association serves as a nonvoting, ex officio member at the pleasure of the Board.