Program News


In 2019, we inducted six new members to Pi Sigma Alpha, the Political Science Honor Society: Hunter Drake, Scott Griffin, Tycoria Johnson, Megan Statom, Grant Wideman, and Chase Womack. Dr. Tim Collins successfully completed his term as Chair of the Department. Dr. Leah Graham transitioned to “Ex officio SACSCOC Liaison” and Department Chair. She presented research paper with Nicholas Edwards (PS Major) on predicting genocide onset through “genocidal dehumanization” rhetoric at MPSA, Chicago (April 2019), and will present a research paper with Nicholas Edwards and Bryson Sirbaugh forming and testing a model of active/passive hate speech online at MPSA 2020.  Dr. Graham is also taking two delegations (US and Iraq) to NMUN Germany in Erfurt, Germany November, 2019. Dr. N. Alex Agaudo (2018) published, Mayor‐Council Form of Government and Policy Responses in Times of Economic Travail, in Politics & Policy.  The department also welcomed a name change - Politics, Justice, Law, & Philosophy, and the addition of Dr. Matt Fitzsimmons (associate professor of philosophy), Dr. Tim Loughrist (assistant professor of philosophy), and Dr. Justin J. Joseph (assistant professor of criminal justice) to our department.  

Spring 2017

In 2017, we inducted six new members to Pi Sigma Alpha, the Political Science Honor Society: Kayla Cleveland, Melissa Humphres, Nicolette Kilgo, Katie Prater, Ruby Villalobos, and Sherree Weakley!

Spring 2016

UNA Political Science inducted 6 new members into Pi Sigma Alpha this year!  Congratulations to Maggie Coan, Wesley Brown, Jacob Jackson, Kijana Mitchell, Sarah Green, and Allison Young.

PSA new members 2016KijanaNewPSA2016

The UNA Political Science program has two new minors, Internation Political Studies and Public Administration.  If you are interested in either program contact Dr. Graham (IPS) or Dr. Aguado (PA) for more information.  

Fall 2015

UNA and The Department of Politics, Justice, and Law hosted Dr. Christopher Phillips - September 10 at 4:30 pm.  Pictures of the event are on our Facebook page.

Spring 2015

Congratulations to our Political Science Scholarship recipients, Chassity Martin, Ruby Villalobos, and Alexa Lesser.

scholarship winners 2015

Meet our new Pi Sigma Alpha inductees.  

2015 Members

  • Chassity Martin
  • Brittany Michael
  • Morgan Price
  • Carrie Reed
  • Kelsey Wright
Carrie Reed and UNA grad Brad Ray
Chasity Martin UNA PS Honor Student
Brittany Michael UNA Honor Student