Phi Kappa Phi Presents Annual Awards, Inducts 61 New Members #myUNA

Office of University Communications & Marketing

Phi Kappa Phi Presents Annual Awards, Inducts 61 New Members

May. 4, 2011

FLORENCE, Ala. – The University of North Alabama chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi national honors society recently recognized several members with special awards and inducted 61 new members from among the university student body, faculty, staff and alumni.

The annual Eleanor Gaunder Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Dr. Nicholas Mauriello, an assistant professor of English. The UNA chapter also nominated senior professional biology major Michelle Sheehy for the Phi Kappa Phi national fellowship award. Sheehy, of Harvest, will graduate next month with a 4.0 GPA and has been accepted to the Tufts University Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine in Grafton, Mass. She was initiated into Phi Kappa Phi as a junior in 2009.

Fourteen students were recognized through the Phi Kappa Phi Student Scholars Forum Writing Competition, which included categories for graduate students, undergraduate single authors and undergraduate collaborative authors. The writing competition winners included:


First place – Catherine James, of Lawrenceburg, Tenn., for “Bogus or Bona Fide: The Legitimacy of the Tudor Dynasty at the Accession of Henry VIII,” sponsored by Dr. Jeffrey Bibbee

Second place – Kerrie Holloway, of Huntsville, for “Operation Babylift: Humanitarian Effort or Publicity Stunt?” sponsored by Dr. Christopher Maynard


First place, single author – David MacMillan, of Florence, for “Determining Lasing Thresholds in Fluorescent Microspheres,” sponsored by Dr. Brian Thompson

Second place, single author – Lauren Schifano, of Florence, for “Paolo Farinati’s The Jewish Forces Vanquishing the Supporters of the Haman: An Allegory of Jesuit Pursuits,” sponsored by Dr. Lisa Kirch

First place, collaborative authors – Leslie Gaither, of Houston; Alisha Mitchell, of Ardmore; Callie Morris, of Florence; Anna Pierce, of Spruce Pine; and Ashton Puckett, of Iuka, Miss.; for “A Systemic Review of the Benefits of Self-Monitoring Compared to Clinic-Based Monitoring of Oral Anticoagulant Therapy (OAT),” sponsored by Dr. Alyce Brown

Second place, collaborative authors – Karen Billingham, of Russellville; Erin Dean, of Lester; Keesha Jones, of Red Bay; Suzanne King, of Jasper; and Candace Painter, of Union Grove; for “Hand Hygiene Compliance: Does Education Help?” sponsored by Dr. Alyce Brown

Sixty-one students, faculty, staff and alumni of UNA were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi. In accordance with national standards for membership in Phi Kappa Phi, student candidates must have completed 72 total semester hours, including at least 24 semester hours at UNA. To be eligible for membership, juniors must be in the upper 7.5 percent of their class. For juniors in the spring 2011 semester, that meant a GPA of at least 3.803 on a 4.0 scale. Seniors selected for membership must be in the top 10 percent of the senior class, which, in the spring 2011 semester, meant a GPA of at least 3.641 on a 4.0 scale. To be eligible as graduate students, candidates must have completed at least 18 semester hours of graduate work at UNA and be in the top 10 percent of all graduate students. In the spring 2011 semester, that meant having a 4.0 GPA. The following students met these requirements:


Amber M. Bishop, of Lawrenceburg, Tenn. – Secondary education/biology 6-12

Danyelle J. Brooks, of Florence – Community counseling

Julie Brannon Brown, of Elkmont – Nursing

Susan K. Browning, of Jena – Nursing

Jessica Ann Gamble, of Decatur – Collaborative special education

Martha Frances Graham, of Florence – Professional management

Corey M. Hatton, of Hatton – Management

K. Paige Hicks, of Athens – Secondary education/history

Brianna Lane Jeffrey, of Florence – Community counseling

Robert Andrew Jones, of Lexington – Secondary education/general science

Pamela Shae Kirby, of Athens – Business administration

Jo Anna Larson, of Florence – History

Nina Rae Long, of Haleyville – Elementary education

Wyndy Carlin Looney, of Tuscaloosa – Nursing

Stacey Kaye Nelson, of Iuka, Miss. – Elementary education

Leah Parker, of Russellville – Community counseling

Alicia Dawn Phillips, of Muscle Shoals – Elementary education

Stephanie Brooke Vickers, of Danville – Elementary special education


Brooke Compton, of Hamilton – Mathematics

Emily Dunlap, of Decatur – Elementary education

Mindy Brady Forsman, of Saltillo, Miss. – Nursing

Kelli A. Gray, of Florence – English

Addie Katherine Grissom, of Phil Campbell – Accounting

Mary Catherine Heflin, of Tuscumbia – Nursing

Andrea Kelli Holt, of Collinwood, Tenn. – Social work

Emily Lauren Payne, of Decatur – Exercise science

Nichola A. Pearson, of Florence – Nursing

Thomas Lance Smith Jr., of Tuscumbia – Communication arts

Cody Lee Taylor, of Pulaski, Tenn. – Physical education

Nicole A. Wilde, of Ann Arbor, Mich. – Nursing


Daniel Hamilton Almon, of Florence – Biology

Christopher Edwin Balentine Jr., of Florence – Biology

Caleb Hugh Banks, of Florence – Entertainment industry

Rachel Ann Bates, of Tuscumbia – Communication arts

Dakota Anderson Bentley, of Killen – Elementary education

Rachel DeAnna Bond, of Madison – Social work

Charles Scott Boyer III, of Florence – Accounting

Joy Elaine Carbine, of Florence – Accounting

Christina Marie DeGrado, of Trussville – Merchandising

Kayla Danielle Dunham, of Harvest – Elementary education

Joseph Todd Elliott, of Sheffield – Secondary education/mathematics

Jessica Nicole Flanagan, of Tuscumbia – Social work

Whitney Nicole Hargett, of Killen – Elementary education

Jordan Lindsey Harless, of Gurley – Management

Melissa Lynn Howe, of Town Creek – Nursing

Jessica Leigh Johnston, of Red Bay – Accounting/economics

Jordan Daphne Ann Jones, of Athens – Social work

Sarah Ann Jones, of Florence – Elementary education

Hillary Paige King, of Florence – Criminal justice

Haley Miranda Medved, of Gardendale – Sociology

Keri D. Metcalf, of Tuscumbia – Biology

Kayla Marie Moore, of Decatur – Nursing

Taylor Pickens, of Florence – Biology

In addition to students, the UNA Phi Kappa Phi chapter elects a small number of outstanding faculty, professional staff and alumni each year. These individuals are chosen on the basis of academic record, professional achievements and service to higher education. They are nominated and elected by local chapter members. The following met these requirements:


Dr. Jana Beaver, assistant professor of management at UNA

Dr. Melvin Davis, director of library services at UNA

Nancy Meeks Sanford, executive director of the Florence-Lauderdale Public Library


Dr. Gregory Carnes, professor of accounting

Louise H. Huddleston, archives technical assistant for the Collier Library

Dr. Donna Parker Jacobs, dean of the College of Education

Dr. Christopher Maynard, chair of the Department of History and Political Science

Dr. Michael Pretes, associate professor of geography