Phi Kappa Phi Chapter Inducts New Members #myUNA

Office of University Communications & Marketing

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter Inducts New Members

May. 5, 2009

FLORENCE, Ala. – The University of North Alabama chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently initiated 65 new members.

Phi Kappa Phi was formed to promote pursuit of excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. The honor society recognizes and honors good character and outstanding achievement by students, faculty and alumni through election to membership and through various awards for distinguished achievements.

To be eligible for membership, junior Phi Kappa Phi candidates must have completed at least 72 hours ranked in the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. Seniors must be ranked in the upper 10 percent of their class. Graduate candidates must be ranked in the upper 10 percent and have an undergraduate grade-point average of 3.25 or higher.

Names and hometowns of new alumni initiates are:

HUNTSVILLE – Clinton Patrick Carter

LORETTO, Tenn. – Elizabeth Diane Newton

Names and hometowns of new UNA faculty and staff initiates are:

FLORENCE – Tammy Wells Jacques, Brentley S. Olive, Gail James Overby and Renee Elizabeth Pongetti Vandiver

MUSCLE SHOALS – Linda J. Armstrong

ROCKY MOUNT, N.C. – Kathy Owens Wallace

Names and hometowns of new student initiates are:

ALMATY, Kazakhstan – Yuliya Zelenskaya

ALTOONA – Melody Michelle Rogers

ATHENS – Carrie LeLayne Trousdale

BELMONT, Miss. – Misti Ann Tooley

CHEROKEE – Tameka LaShea Armstead Jones

COURTLAND – Satin Antionette Mayes

CORINTH, Miss. – Richard Edward Leatherwood Jr.

DOUBLE SPRINGS – Haley B. Batchelor

EZINIFITE, Anambra, Nigeria – Judith Ezejimofor Ogechukwu

FALKVILLE – Lauren Lee Gover

FLORENCE – Erica Logan Conley, Tony Zackary Haddock Jr., Patricia Bryant Hartley, Darya A. Martin, Melissa Renee Morris, Emily Katherine Russell, Amy Lynn Ryder, James Harold Sandlin III, Lauren Marie Schifano and Kayla LaShawn Vaden

GUIN – Nicholas Coty Jackson

GUNTERSVILLE – Mark Daniel Millard

HAMILTON – Ana Paula Tavares

HUNTSVILLE – Antonia Crutcher, Nina Roxanne Miskelly and Kendra Dianne Ransom

JASPER – Kimberly Denae Duncan

KILLEN – Chasity Danyelle Watkins, Laura Sylvann Kachelman, Lacy Beth Casteel and Whitney Ann Burgess

LAWRENCEBURG, Tenn. – Sarah Eugenia Campbell, Catherine Elizabeth James and Zachary Allman McMasters

LEIGHTON – Meagan Skye Flannagin

LEWISBURG, Tenn. – Maria Michelle Carter

MADISON – Katherine Ann Rolf

MANTECA, Calif. – Johnny Coy Reaves

MOULTON – Jessica Brooke Coffey, Lisa Markita McLemore and Samantha LaShae White


PHIL CAMPBELL – Sarah Kathleen Hurst

PULASKI, Tenn. – Carol Joan Vandenberghe

ROGERSVILLE – Staci Amanda Gatlin

RUSSELVILLE – Natalie Jackson Bendall

SAVANNAH, Tenn. – Natalia S. Violette

SCOTTSBURG, Va. – Donna Perkins Smith

SHEFFIELD – Chelsea Ann Hughes, Jonathan David Jones, Holly LeAnn Martin and Jessica Monique Williams

TUSCUMBIA – Jackson Tanner Agee, Whitney Rene Thompson and Micca Leann Weaver

WAYNESBORO, Tenn. – Danielle Nicole Skelton

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. – John F. Bubb