Office of University Communications & Marketing

University of North Alabama Honors Students, Faculty And Staff with Annual Awards

May. 9, 2014

By Bryan Rachal, Public Affairs and Media Relations

FLORENCE, Ala. – The University of North Alabama honored members of its student body, faculty and staff at its annual awards gala this past week. Awards were presented to recognize members of the campus community for academic, leadership and service achievements in the 2013-14 academic year.
Student award recipients included:
The Lion’s Cup – Phi Beta Sigma
Contribution to Campus Life Award for Leadership - Matthew S. Jones.
Contribution to Campus Life Award for Service - Erica E. Gholson
Greek Man of the Year – Matthew S. Jones
Greek Woman of the Year – Ann Marie Russ
Daniel R. Leasure Award – Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority
LaGrange Hostess of the Year – Anna “Avy” V. Stansbury
LaGrange Host of the Year – Matthew S. Jones
Student Employee of the Year – Samantha B. Gross
President’s Diversity Award – Academic Unit – Department of Communications, Department of History and Political Science
President’s Diversity Award – Faculty – Dr. William G. Cale, Jr.
Dean’s Award for College of Arts & Sciences – Bethany F. Pottratz
Dean’s Award for College of Business – Laura A. Giles
Dean’s Award for College of Education – Natalie E. Kull

 Dean’s Award for College of Nursing and Allied Health – Morgan E. McVay
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award – Joseph M. Cole
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Emily N. Hamby
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Gabrielle E. Jenkins
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Bethany F. Pottratz
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Anna E. Prater
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Kristen N. Thornton
Distinguished Academic Achievement Award - Leigh A. Williams

Undergraduate Service Award – Lesley D. Carter
Undergraduate Service Award - Jacob H. Ezell
Undergraduate Service Award - Nikki M. Messer
Undergraduate Service Award - Anna “Avy” V. Stansbury
Hall of Fame Award – Abril B. Agnew
Hall of Fame Award - Kaitlin B. Chappell
Hall of Fame Award - Robert “Robby” B. Thompson
Hall of Fame Award - Kaylie N. Watts
University Woman of the Year – Laura A. Giles
University Man of the Year – Matthew S. Jones
W.T. McElheny Award – Jeff A. Cash
Outstanding Service Award – Ms. Ranee B. Mitchell
Eleanor Gaunder Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Teaching Award – Ms. Stephanie L. Montgomery

Academic Affairs Faculty Awards for Outstanding Advising - Dr. Martha S. Rock


Academic Affairs Faculty Awards for Outstanding Scholarship/Research - Dr. Keith T. Jones
Academic Affairs Faculty Awards for Outstanding Service - Dr. Tera R. Kirkman
Dr. Lawrence J. Nelson Outstanding Teaching Award - Dr. Jeffrey R. Bibbee