# SHARED GOVERNANCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES OF THE E-BUSINESS OF SEPTEMBER 18, 2023

In lieu of holding a Shared Governance Executive Committee (SGEC) meeting, items of business were e-mailed to the SGEC membership.

#### Approval of the Minutes of the E-Business of August 21, 2023

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the minutes and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

# <u>Staff Senate Nomination of Ms. Hilary Coats to serve as the replacement for Mitch Powell</u> (resignation from UNA) on the Technologies Advisory Committee, to complete his term that runs through 2025, in the position of "staff member selected from the Offices of Admissions, Registrar, or Student Financial Aid, recommended to the SGEC by the Staff Senate."

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the nomination and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

<u>COAD Nomination of Mr. John McGee to serve as the replacement for Mitch Powell in a</u> <u>Non-Voting COAD Membership Position on the Academic and Student Affairs (ASA)</u> <u>Committee, from among the Director of Educational Technology Services, Director of</u> <u>Student Financial Aid, Interim Registrar, or Assistant Vice President for Enrollment</u> <u>Management, to complete the final year on the service term that ends in August 2024</u>

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the nomination and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

# <u>Faculty Senate Nomination of Dr. Jim Watkins to serve as the replacement for Chanho</u> <u>Kang (resignation) on the Institutional Review Board (IRB) as the Kinesiology faculty</u> <u>member to complete the remaining two years left on the service term that ends in August</u> <u>2025</u>

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the nomination and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

<u>Faculty Senate Nomination of Dr. Rebecca Smith to serve as the replacement for Cheryl</u> <u>Price on the Shared Governance Executive Committee (SGEC) to complete the final</u> <u>remaining year of the service term that ends in August 2024</u>

**Background:** due to Dr. Price's appointment as an Interim Assistant Dean in the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering, an administrative appointment, she is no longer eligible to serve on SGEC per the Shared Governance Document that states the following: *"If a shared governance committee member's university position changes prior to completion of his/her appointed shared governance committee term*  such that the committee member no longer represents his/her constituency (e.g., faculty or staff accepting full-time administrative positions, staff becoming full-time faculty, or administrators becoming full-time faculty or staff, etc., including interim appointments lasting longer than one semester), that committee member shall forfeit his/her committee appointment."

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the nomination and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

<u>Proposed Revision to Athletic Committee Composition of Shared Governance Document</u> <u>Change "one staff member from Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, recommended to the</u> <u>SGEC by the Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion" to "Chief Diversity Officer or</u> <u>designee" in a by-position appointment</u>

# **Background:** the DEI Division dissolved when the duties of VP for DEI shifted to the Interim Chief Diversity Officer, the Presidential Mentors Academy shifted to Enrollment Management, and Inclusion shifted to the Mitchell-West Center for Social Inclusion

Dr. Molly Mathis moved approval of the proposed Shared Governance Document revisions and Dr. Craig Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

Dr. Lee Renfroe\_

Dr. Lee Renfroe, Chairperson