# Faculty/Staff Welfare Committee

# **Meeting Minutes**

# January 18, 2011

#### I. Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Faculty/Staff Welfare Committee was called to order at 3:15 p.m. on January 18, 2011 in the Raburn Conference Room by Dr. Birdie Bailey.

Present members were: Dr. Birdie Bailey, Dr. Cameron Gren, Dr. Yingping Huang, Dr. Janice Myhan, Ms. Glenda Richey, Ms. Jami Schepman, Mr. David Shields, Dr. Steve Smith, Mr. Mike Thompson, Ms. Catherine White, and Ms. Julie Yates.

II. The minutes from the December 14, 2010 meeting were approved.

### III. Old Business

- a. Donated Leave Bank Catherine White (HR): The proposed policy was discussed, and it was agreed the Catherine White would propose an alternative policy based on the current policy.
- b. Protocol for External Faculty/Staff Searches with attached Search Summary Form (Rec'd 11/23/10): It was agreed that this item would be considered at the February 28, 2011 meeting.
- c. Revision of Faculty Research Development Policy (FH Section 4.10) (Rec'd 11/23/10): Approved.
- d. Graduate Work Financial Assistance (Guidelines for Graduate Work Financial Assistance for Staff and Service Employees - Rec'd 11/16/10): It was reported that an extension has been applied to this item. The committee approved the below language revision and requested that it be sent to Chris Horn for the Staff Senate's review. The item itself will be considered at the February 28, 2011 meeting.

### Language revision on #3 to read:

3. Any grant for such graduate work shall be limited to the current average tuition and fees for a four-year Alabama university and attendance of the grantee at an institution accredited by one of the six U>S. regional accrediting associations or an accrediting agency of the U.S. Department of Education. The granting period shall not exceed one year, but may be renewable annually for a maximum of eight (8) semesters.

#### V. New Business

It was agreed that the meetings would move to the fourth Monday of the month at 3:00 p.m.

VI. Meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine D. White Secretary