## Faculty-Staff Welfare Committee Minutes

January 19, 2022, via Zoom, 9:30 am

## Attendance

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Leshan Kimbrough. Those present were:

- 1. Dr. Sara Lynn Baird
- 2. Ms. Melissa Bolton
- 3. Ms. Bretta Cagle
- 4. Ms. Michelle Eubanks
- 5. Dr. Felecia Harris
- 6. Dr. Leshan Kimbrough
- 7. Ms. Kim Oakley
- 8. Ms. Jill Simpson
- 9. Ms. Catherine White
- 10. Ms. Angela Zwissler

## **Tobacco-Free Policy Proposal**

Dr. Sara Lynn Baird made a motion to approve the Tobacco-Free Policy. Ms. Melissa Bolton seconded the motion. The proposal to amend UNA's current "No Smoking Policy" to a "Tobacco-Free Policy" was then discussed. A question was raised regarding the examples cited for "smokeless-tobacco" and a discussion followed. It was proposed that "etcetera" be added to the end of the sentence which lists examples of smokeless tobacco so that the policy incorporates any future smokeless-tobacco products produced by the tobacco industry. An editorial change was also proposed. In the first paragraph of the policy, it was recommended the word "conductive" be changed to "conducive". Dr. Sara Lynn withdrew the motion to approve the policy and made a motion to accept the proposed policy with the two edits mentioned above. Ms. Michelle Eubanks seconded the motion. The vote passed.

Meeting adjourned at 9:36 am.