### **ANNUAL REPORT**

Faculty Staff Welfare Committee

# University of North Alabama Florence, Alabama

<u>Dr. Jill Simpson</u> Committee Chair		<u>June 15, 2020</u> Date submitted
Submitted	to:	
	Mr. Evan Thornton	
	Vice President, Business and Financial Affairs	Date received
	<u>Dr. Felecia Harris</u> Chair, Shared Governance Executive Committee	Date received

#### UNIVERSITY OF NORTH ALABAMA

## ANNUAL REPORT – Faculty Staff Welfare Committee 2019-2020

I. Executive Summary

The committee met formally and virtually over the 2019-2020 academic year. The committee discussed issues presented to it such as proposed changes to the Equal Opportunity and Harassment Policy and prosed changes to the Placement and Movement within the Salary Plan: Promotions policy.

- II. The Committee's Charge (from the Shared Governance Document)
  - 1. To review and make recommendations on matters relating to faculty and staff welfare, including compensation, benefits, health and safety, and quality and equity of work issues.
  - 2. To communicate its deliberations and findings to the President, and after discussion with the President, to the university community.
  - 3. To handle any proposals the committee may make affecting university policy according to section C.2 "Shared Governance Procedure for Policy Change Recommendations"
  - 4. To submit a final written report electronically by the first day of the fall semester to the Vice President for Business and Financial Affairs with a copy sent to the Chair of the SGEC.
- III. The Committee met on the following dates:

2/25/20 (in person) 3/17/20 – 3/31/20 (via email)

- IV. What were the Committee's actions and accomplishments this year relative to each of the items of the charge?
  - Charge #1 The committee reviewed proposed changes to the Equal Employment Opportunity and Harassment Policy and proposed changes to the Placement and Movement within the Salary Plan: Promotions policy.
  - Charge #2 Deliberations and findings were sent to the Chair of SGEC for further dissemination to the university community.
  - Charge #3 The chair of SGEC provided written proposals to the Chair of FSW for the committee to review and make recommendations. Within 15 calendar days of receipt, the FSW committee met to discuss and vote on the proposed changes. The results of the votes were communicated to Dr. Felecia Harris, Chair of SGEC for dissemination to the next appropriate committee.
  - Charge #4 The FSW Committee communicated its deliberations and findings to the Vice-President for Business and Financial Affairs, Mr. Evan Thornton, and copied the Chair of SGEC, Dr. Felecia Harris.

V. What were the Committee's formal recommendations?

#### **Equal Employment Opportunity and Harassment Policy**

- 1. The committee recommendation an editorial revision to change the institution stated from "Vanderbilt" to "UNA."
- 2. The committee recommended that the policy be expanded to state that the policy for student employees is provided in the Student Handbook.

### Proposal to Amend the Placement and Movement within the Salary Plan: Promotions

- 1. The committee recommended that the proposal be sent back to its originator to make the language clearer as to when utilization of this proposed clause of salary negotiations would be appropriate.
- VI. What does the Committee plan to accomplish
  - A. In the coming year?

To continue to carry out the charge of the committee.

B. In future years?

To continue to carry out the charge of the committee.

VII. What are the Committee's weaknesses?

None at the present time.

A. What can the Shared Governance Committee help you do to address the weaknesses?

N/A

VIII. Comments.

The Chair wishes to thank those members who served on the FSW Committee. These members and their future active Committee dates are listed below:

#### **Voting members**

Dr. Peggy Bergeron (Faculty, 2020)

Ms. Melissa Bolton (Staff, 2022)

Mr. Steve Burnett (Staff, 2021)

Dr. Greg Carnes (Council of Academic Deans, 2020)

Dr. Gabriela Carrasco (Faculty, 2020)

Dr. Leshan Kimbrough (Faculty, 2022)

Mr. Nathan Pitts (Staff, 2021)

Ms. Regina Sherrill (Staff, 2021)

Dr. Jill Simpson (Faculty, 2020)

#### Non-voting

Mr. Evan Thornton (non-voting, by position)

Ms. Catherine White (non-voting, by position)

Ms. Angela Zwissler (non-voting, by position)