Department of Chemistry and Industrial Hygiene

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Amanda Hofacker Coffman, Organic Chemistry

  • Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Office: 310 Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 1999, Chemistry (minor: Mathematics), Miami University of Ohio, M.S., 2003, Organic Chemistry, Ohio State University; Ph.D., 2006, Organic Chemistry, Ohio State University
  • UNA Box 5049, Florence AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4344, alhofacker@una.edu

Dr. Frank Diaz, Organic Chemistry

  • Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Office:  304 Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 1998, Professional Chemistry with Honors, Ph.D., 2003, Chemistry, University of North Carolina
  • UNA Box 5109, Florence, AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4474, fdiaz@una.edu

Dr. Crescente E. Figueroa, Industrial Hygiene

  • Professor of Industrial Hygiene, Program Director of Industrial Hygiene, Director of the Occupational and Environmental Health Laboratory (OEHL), Office: 303 Floyd Science Building
  • B.Sc., 1977, Universidad Catolica, Chile; M.S., 1988, Industrial Hygiene, Texas A&M University; Ph.D., 1993, Biosystems Engineering, Texas A&M University
  • UNA Box 5211, Florence AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4236, cefigueroa@una.edu

Dr. Cameron K. Gren, Inorganic Chemistry

  • Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Office: 305 Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 2003, Chemistry with honors, Middle Tennessee State University; Ph.D., 2009, Chemistry, Vanderbilt University
  • UNA Box 5049, Florence AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-5027, cgren@una.edu

Dr. Brent S. Olive, General Chemistry and Industrial Hygiene

  • Department Chair; Associate Professor of Chemistry and Industrial Hygiene; Office: 203B Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 1994, Chemistry and Industrial Hygiene, University of North Alabama; M.S.P.H., 1996, Industrial Hygiene, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Ph.D., 1999, Environmental Health Sciences, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • UNA Box 5204, Florence AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4215, bsolive@una.edu

Dr. Chong Qiu, Analytical Chemistry

  • Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Office: 315 Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 2007, Chemistry, Tsinghua University; Ph.D., 2013, Chemistry, Texas A&M University
  • UNA Box 5049, Florence, AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4339, cqiu@una.edu

Dr. Christopher Stopera, Physical Chemistry

  • Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Office:  307 Floyd Science Building
  • B.S., 1999, Chemistry, Rhodes College; Ph.D., 2008, Chemistry, North Dakota State University
  • UNA Box 5049, Florence, AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4479, cstopera@una.edu

Mrs. Pam Osborn

  • Administrative Assistant; Office: 203A Floyd Science Building
  • UNA Box 5049, Florence AL  35632-0001
  • (256) 765-4622, pkosborn@una.edu