Center for Writing Excellence

Welcome!

Welcome to the web home of the University of North Alabama’s Center for Writing Excellence, housed on the 2nd floor of The Commons. 

The Center’s mission is three-fold:

FOCUS Center Hours

The FOCUS Center is located in Rivers Hall.

  • Mon: 6:00pm-11:00pm  
  • Wed: 6:00pm-11:00pm

In-House Consultations

    • Spring & Fall:
    • Mon - Thurs: 9:00am-4:00pm & 6:00pm-8:00pm,
    • Fri: 9:00am-3:00pm,
    • Sun: 2:00pm-8:00pm

  • Summer I & II:
  • Mon-Thurs: 12:00pm-8:00pm

Online Consultations

    • Spring & Fall:
    • Mon-Thurs: 2:00pm-4:00pm & 6:00pm-8:00pm,
    • Wed: 4:00pm-6:00pm,
    • Fri: 1:00pm-3:00pm,
    • Sun: 2:00pm-4:00pm

  • Summer I & II:
  • Mon-Thurs: 6:00pm-8:00pm
CWE Consultation

Quick Testimonials

"Amazing. A must visit place at UNA. Improved my writing a great deal."


“I love the Writing Center! Thanks for having it available for the students!”


"I am continuously learning how to improve my writing. The tutors are amazing."


Please note that all Writing Center programs and services are free to University of North Alabama students, faculty, and staff.


[^ Top]

Dr. Robert Koch Jr.
University Success Center Director
Center for Writing Excellence Director
The Commons 223
256.765.4131
rtkoch@una.edu 

Ms. Tammy D. Rhodes
Administrative Assistant
The Commons 204
256.765.4722
256.765.4764 (FAX)
tdrhodes@una.edu

Dr. Amy E. Crews
University Advising Services Director
Active Suspension Coordinator
The Commons 221
256.765.4437
aecrews@una.edu

Mr. Matthew Little
First-Year Experience Director
The Commons 215
256.765.4133
clittle3@una.edu

Dr. Kathleen Richards
Center for Writing Excellence
Assistant Director
The Commons 219
256.765.6015
karichards@una.edu

Prof. Marlow B. McCullough
Mathematics Learning Center Director
The Commons 217
256.765.4213
mmccullough@una.edu

Dr. Matt Price
Learning Support Coordinator
Academic Advisor
The Commons 220
256.765.4722
mprice2@una.edu

Ms. Kenda H. Rusevlyan
Testing Coordinator
University Advisor
The Commons 214
256.765.4773
khrusevlyan@una.edu

Ms. Elizabeth C. Haggerty
University Advisor
The Commons 213
256.765.4722
echaggerty@una.edu 

Donate to USC