UNA Alumna Christy Jordan to Be Featured on Food Network's 'Paula's Best Dishes' Saturday

Nov. 4, 2011


FLORENCE, Ala. – University of North Alabama graduate and nationally known cook and author Christy Jordan will be featured as a guest on the Nov. 5 episode of Paula Deen’s “Paula’s Best Dishes.” On Nov. 10, she will be in Florence to headline UNA’s Holiday Market.

The Holiday Market will showcase holiday goods from local and national vendors and will be followed by Jordan’s cooking demonstration, where she will feature several of her delicious holiday recipes. The event will be held at the Marriott Shoals Conference Center, with the Holiday Market beginning at 4 p.m. and the cooking demonstration at 7 p.m. Tickets are $25 for adults, $15 for students and $5 for children 12 and under. Major sponsors include the Marriot Shoals Hotel and Spa, The Home Depot and Southern Living. Proceeds from the event will benefit the culinary arts program at UNA.

Jordan is the publisher and author of SouthernPlate.com. Her book, “Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family,” was released by Harper Collins/William Morrow in October 2010 and received an endorsement and rave reviews from Deen, who then invited Jordan to her home to film an episode dedicated to Southern classics.

Jordan began her Web site as a hobby in 2008 and is currently receiving more than 30 million hits per month. She is writing her second book and was recently named editor at large of Southern Living Magazine.

Jordan said of her experience with Deen, “We had a wonderful time. She was so very gracious and kind. Our episode was centered around Southern classics, and we had some great conversations about the old days, even incorporating my heirloom rolling pin into the recipe prep.”

The episode will premier Nov. 5 at 10:30 a.m. EST/9:30 a.m. CST, with subsequent airings Nov. 7 at 5 p.m. EST/4 p.m. CST and Nov. 14 at noon EST/11 a.m. CST. For more information on the show, visit www.foodnetwork.com/paulas-best-dishes and click “Remembering the Classics” under the Episode Guide.

To learn more about Jordan, visit www.southernplate.com.

For more information, e-mail media@southernplate.com