The University Success Center

University Advising Services

University Advising Services

Academic Appeals

Any student who has been suspended for one calendar year or any student who has been suspended for three calendar years and has completed one year of the suspension period may file a written appeal and appear before the Readmissions Committee. The written appeal must be submitted to University Advising Services no later than 5 days before the opening date of residence halls as listed in the University Calendar. This deadline applies for the semester that readmission is sought. The Readmissions Committee usually meets the Monday before classes begin in Summer, Fall and Spring semesters.

Once the appeal is filed, the student will appear before the Readmissions Committee for the appeal hearing. Students will be notified via email of the hearing time and place.

Who should appeal?

  1. A student who can present and/or provide substantial evidence of unusual mitigating or extenuating circumstances that led to academic difficulties.
  2. A student who can present and/or provide substantial evidence of changed circumstances that would support the likelihood of the student’s future academic success.
  3. If enrollment in classes is dependent upon the student receiving student financial aid, the student should—during the appeal process—be in contact with the Office of Student Financial Services to determine his/her eligibility for financial aid.

What is considered an unusual mitigating or extenuating circumstance?

Who should not appeal?

This appeal process is intended to be used in situations where circumstances were beyond the student’s control.

What happens if I decide to appeal?

 

Success Center Staff

Dr. Robert Koch Jr.

University Success Center Director

Center for Writing Excellence Director

The Commons 223

256.765.4131

rtkoch@una.edu

 

Ms. Tammy D. Rhodes

Administrative Assistant

The Commons 204

256.765.4722

256.765.4764 (FAX)

tdrhodes@una.edu

 

Dr. Amy E. Crews

University Advising Services Director

Active Suspension Coordinator

The Commons 221

256.765.4437

aecrews@una.edu

 

Mr. Matthew Little

First-Year Experience Director

The Commons 215

256.765.4133

clittle3@una.edu

 

Dr. Kathleen Richards

Center for Writing Excellence

Assistant Director

The Commons 219

256.765.6015

karichards@una.edu

 

Prof. Marlow B. McCullough

Mathematics Learning Center Director

The Commons 217

256.765.4213

mmccullough@una.edu

 

Dr. Matt Price

Learning Support Coordinator

The Commons 220

256.765.5949

mprice2@una.edu

 

Ms. Kenda H. Rusevlyan

Testing Coordinator

University Advisor

The Commons 214

256.765.4773

khrusevlyan@una.edu

 

Ms. Elizabeth C. Haggerty

University Advisor

The Commons 213

256.765.4722

echaggerty@una.edu

 

Donate to USC