People

Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Staff

Graduate Students


Bergeron

Wayne P. Bergeron, LTC (Ret.) US Army, D.Sc.

Assistant Professor and Chair

129C Wesleyan Hall

256-765-5022

wpbergeron@una.edu

Emergency and disaster management, homeland security, terrorism, intelligence, inter- agency cooperation, crime and law enforcement

 

Dr. David Brommer

David M. Brommer, PhD

Associate Professor

129B Wesleyan Hall

256-765-6307

dbrommer@una.edu

Climatology, climate change, nature and society interaction, environmental hazards
 

Jian Chen, PhD

Assistant Professor

112 Wesleyan Hall

jchen18@una.edu

GIS, big data analytics, environmental hazards, water resources, remote sensing
Dr. Lisa Keys-Mathews

Lisa Keys-Mathews, PhD, GISP

Professor and Director of Quality Enhancement Plan

Commons 213

256-765-4640

lkeysmathews@una.edu

Environmental hazards, disaster recovery, image processing, GIS, nature and society interaction
Dr. Francis T. Koti

Francis T. Koti, PhD, GISP

Professor

113 Wesleyan Hall

256-765-4219

ftkoti@una.edu

Regional development and planning, urban geography, GIS and society, Africa
Dr. Mario Mighty

Mario A. Mighty, PhD, GISP

Assistant Professor and Lab Coordinator

105 Wesleyan Hall

256-765-4505

mmighty@una.edu

GIS, agriculture, sustainability, economic development, Caribbean geography, geospatial applications for developing countries
Dr. Michael J. Pretes

Michael Pretes, PhD

Professor and Graduate Coordinator

111 Wesleyan Hall

256-765-4759

mjpretes@una.edu

Economic development, geography of finance, political geography, cultural geography, tourism, National Parks, Australia, Pacific Islands, North America, Arctic
Dr. Sunhui Sim

Sunhui (Sunny) Sim, PhD, GISP

Associate Professor and Internship Coordinator

120 Wesleyan Hall

256-765-4250

ssim@una.edu

GIS, remote sensing, urban geography, geographic modeling, geographic visualization, East Asia

Dr. Bill Strong

William (Bill) R. Strong, PhD, GISP

Professor Emeritus

104 Wesleyan Hall

256-765-4218

wrstrong@una.edu

Cultural geography, cartography, geographic education, geographic thought, Middle East, Latin America

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Rae Atencio

Mr. Jose R. Atencio, III

Adjunct Faculty

256-765-4458

jratencio@una.edu

Geography
Brad Baker

Mr. Brad Baker

Adjunct Faculty

bwbaker2@una.edu Geography
Robert Nall

Mr. Robert Nall

Adjunct Faculty

rmnall@una.edu Geography
Mrs. Tama Nunnelley

Mrs. Tama Nunnelley

Adjunct Faculty

tlnunnelley@una.edu Geography
Amanda Oakley

Ms. Amanda Oakley

Adjunct Faculty

agsmith@una.edu Geography


Staff

Mrs. Marissa Gatlin

Mrs. Marissa H. Gatlin

Administrative Assistant

129A Wesleyan Hall
256-765-4246
mgatlin1@una.edu

Graduate Students

Adam Benefield

Adam Benefield

(B.S. in GIS, University of North Alabama, 2017)

Haleyville, AL Man Made Wildfire Occurrences, Nature-society Interactions, Public Lands
Priscilla Lema

Priscilla Lema

(B.S. in Environment and Society, University of Alaska Anchorage, 2014)

Anchorage, AK GIS, Planning and Adaptation to Environmental Change and Hazards, Landscape, Arctic
Jackson Miller

Jackson Miller

(B.S. in GIS, University of North Alabama, 2014)

Elkmont, AL GIS
Jenna Miller

Jenna Miller

(B.S. in GIS, University of North Alabama, 2017)

Muscle Shoals, AL Geopolitics, Urban/City Planning, Remote Sensing using UAVs
Steve Osera

Stephen Osero

(B.S. in Environmental Science, Kenyatta University , 2015)

Nyamira, Kenya Climate Change and Precision Agriculture, GIS, and Remote Sensing
Abbie Smith

Ashley Romer

(B.S. in Criminal Justice, University of North Alabama, 2018)

Nassau, Behamas GIS, Environmental
Paul Williams

Paul Williams

(B.S. in Psychology, University of North Alabama, 2007)

Bear Creek, AL GIS, Environmental GIS, Public Lands, Hemp Economy