APPLY! REQUEST

Meet Our University Advancement Staff

Dr. Deborah L. Shaw

Dr. Deborah L. Shaw


VP for Advancement; Executive Director for UNA Foundation
(256) 765.4757
dshaw2@una.edu

Dr. Judy Jackson

Dr. Judy Jackson


Associate Vice President, Advancement Services
(256) 765.4896
jtjackson@una.edu

Judy has spent her entire UNA career working in the Advancement Office. She holds a B.S. Degree in management and an MBA from UNA. She also earned a doctoral degree in Higher Education Administration in 2010 from the University of Alabama. Judy is married to Joe, and they have 2 children and 5 grandchildren.

Shinika Byrd

Shinika Byrd


Assistant to the Vice President
(256) 765.4757
sbyrd2@una.edu

Deborah Hensley

Deborah Hensley


Director of Donor Relations
(256) 765.4861
dlhensley@una.edu

Barbie Terry

Barbie Terry


College Development Gift Officer
(256) 765.5082
bterry5@una.edu

Johnette Davis

Johnette Davis


College Development Gift Officer
(256) 765.5081
jdavis29@una.edu

Gwen Patrick

Gwen Patrick


Director of Financial and Database Services
(256) 765-5085
gpatrick@una.edu

Mary Ramey

Mary Ramey


Coordinator for Database Services
(256) 765-5092
mramey@una.edu

Allison Doran

Allison Mays


Administrative Assistant
(256) 765.4670
amays@una.edu

Meet our Alumni Relations Staff

Haley Brink

Haley Brink


Director of Alumni Relations
(256) 765.4201
htbrink@una.edu

Amy Bishop

Amy Bishop


Senior Administrative Assistant – Alumni Relations
(256) 765.4201
abishop3@una.edu

Amy Bishop is a graduate of the University of North Alabama with a Bachelor of Science in Photography and is currently pursuing a Master of Professional Studies in Higher Education Administration. She has 14 years of experience in the photography and administrative field. She is in her third year with Alumni Relations and enjoys the wide variety of tasks she gets to perform. Amy is married to Daniel Bishop, a 2006 and 2014 graduate, and they live in Rogersville with their miniature schnauzer Bernadette. When she is not working or crafting she enjoys taking care of their 6 backyard chickens. They are also expecting their first child in July!

Elizabeth Tyson

Elizabeth Tyson


Coordinator of Annual Giving and Special Projects
(256) 765.4201
etyson@una.edu

Meet our University Communications & Marketing Staff

Bryan Rachal

Bryan Rachal, APR


Director of Communications
(256) 765.4225
brachal@una.edu

Bryan Rachal is a 2005 graduate of the University of Arkansas with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and is accredited in public relations. Bryan is an experienced news producer and reporter having worked in both television and radio; he’s also an accomplished fundraiser having worked as a gifts officer for public radio and higher education. Bryan is an avid outdoorsman and fly fisherman; he’s also a voracious reader of news and literature alike. Bryan is married to his lovely wife, Andrea; they have two children, Alexander; and Annabelle.

Jeremy Britten, Associate Director for Digital Communications

Jeremy Britten


Associate Director for Digital Communications
(256) 765.4225
jrbritten@una.edu

Jeremy Britten is an award winning marketing and digital communications expert with 18+ years of experience. Specialties include: digital marketing & design, social media strategy, content strategy, and search engine optimization (SEO).Jeremy and his wife, Christi, moved from Seattle to Florence in 2008 and have four children: Avery, Hannah, Emerson, and Margie. Jeremy enjoys studying Shoals history, trying new foods with his wife, and going on adventures with his children.

Karen Hodges

Karen Hodges


Associate Director for Creative Services
(256) 765.4225
kohodges@una.edu

Karen Hodges is in her 27th year as part of the creative team at the University of North Alabama and currently serves as Associate Director of Creative Services; she also served as Publications Assistant and University Photographer during her time at UNA. She is an award winning graphic designer, including 25 “Best in the Nation” awards for her work with UNA’s athletics publications. Karen is a 1982 graduate of UNA with a B.S. degree in Art. She is married to Jeff Hodges, a 1982 UNA graduate, who serves UNA as assistant athletic director for communication and they have worked a combined 59 years at UNA. Karen is a mother of three, with a son Dillon (24) and daughters Shanna (19) and Melanie (17). Dillon is a 2012 UNA graduate and received a Promising Alumni Award.

Cindy Brusseau-Hollander

Cindy Brusseau-Hollander


Administrative Assistant
(256) 765.4225
cbrusseauhollander@una.edu

Captain Charles Craig

Charles Craig


Graphic Designer
(256) 765.4225
ccraig@una.edu

Chuck Craig is an award-winning graphic artist with more than 30 years of experience in the industry. He is a graduate of UNA’s Commercial Art program and has worked for many well-known organizations including, Nauticus, NASA Marshal Space Flight Center and the U.S. Space & Rocket Center to name a few. Chuck is an avid fisherman and loves to listen to music. He lives with his wife, Diane, and his dog Molly in Rogersville, and is a proud father of two fine individuals

Shannon Wells

Shannon Wells


University Photographer
(256) 765.4225
sdwells@una.edu

Shannon Wells is a graduate of the University of North Alabama with a BFA in photography. Hired in 1990 she became UNA’s first full time staff photographer. Shannon began her photography career in 1980 when she was hired as the first woman staff photographer for the local newspaper. Shannon’s work has been published extensively. In her position as University Photographer, her job has included photographing for UNA publications, events, athletics, marketing, web content and maintaining the UNA photo gallery and archives. Her passion for the arts is evident by organizing and participating in group and solo exhibits throughout her career. Shannon is an adjunct instructor of photography in the UNA Art Department. She currently lives in Florence and is a mother of five grown children.

Mitchel Moon

Mitchel Moon


Web Developer
(256) 765.5301
mrmoon@una.edu

Mitchel Moon is a graduate of the University of North Alabama with a degree in Computer Information Systems. He has worked as a developer professionally for nine years, writing code for municipal systems, transportation management and the Web. When he is not writing code, Mitchel enjoys creating music, gardening, and spending time with his wife Tashina and their two dogs