(The honors listed on this page are only applicable to undergraduate students)


A Dean’s List for each college in the University is published at the end of each fall and spring semester. To be considered for the Dean’s List, an undergraduate student must be classified as a degree seeking student in full-time residence and have no grade of F, WF,I, IP during that semester. Undergraduate students with a 3.7 grade point average or higher on all work carried during that semester will be eligible for the Dean’s List.


Degrees with Honors are conferred in accordance with the following index numbers which represent the grade point average for all work—but not less than 44 semester hours (Exception: Validation credit received by students in the RNBSN or RN-MSN programs may be used to meet this requirement.) completed in residence at this institution:

Cum Laude 3.50-3.69
Magna Cum Laude 3.70-3.89
Summa Cum Laude 3.90-4.00

*Students who have met the Second Chance Provision are not eligible to graduate with honors.


Turris Fidelis Award

The Turris Fidelis key may be awarded to not more than two graduating seniors at spring commencement. Students who have graduated since the previous spring semester as well as those planning to graduate in the spring will be considered candidates for the award. The award is made on the basis of outstanding service to the University and scholastic achievement. This honor is the highest that can be conferred upon a graduating senior, and recipients are selected by a joint committee of faculty and students.

Keller Key

The Keller Key award was established as a memorial to the late President James Albert and Mrs. Mariglen Keller. A Keller Key is presented at each commencement to the honor undergraduate who, on the basis of having earned all credits for the bachelor’s degree at this university, has made the highest grade point average. The recipient of the Keller Key will be identified by the Registrar’s Office in accordance with established guidelines. For this purpose, all academic work ever attempted at UNA will be included in the calculation of the GPA. A student may receive the award only once even though more than one degree may be earned.

Distinguished Academic Achievement Award

The Distinguished Academic Achievement Award is presented to the UNA graduate with the highest grade point average who has completed at least 32 semester hours at UNA and is not eligible for the Keller Key Award. The grade point average is based on all work attempted. This award is presented annually at the Awards Gala