The University of North Alabama will reaffirm its accreditation with The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), in Spring 2023. Preparation requires involvement and support from across the university. SACSCOC accreditation is critical to UNA’s operations and reputation as a premier University. Continued accreditation with SACSCOC not only ensures our access to federal funding, but also affirms our commitment to excellence in education, research, innovation and service.


As the SACSCOC Liaison, Dr. Lorie Johnson oversees the University of North Alabama's reaffirmation process. In addition to preparing the required documents that demonstrate UNA's compliance with the SACSCOC principles of accreditation, Dr. Johnson engages with university stakeholders to increase understanding of accrediting policies and procedures that impact various aspects of the campus. 


Dr. Lorie Johnson, SACSCOC Liaison and Special Assistant to the Senior Vice Provost of Academic Affairs 
601 Cramer Way UNA Box 5041


SACSCOC emblem

The University of North Alabama is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, masters, education specialist, and doctorate level degrees. Questions about the accreditation of the University of North Alabama may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (

SACSCOC Reaffirmation Timeline

Fall 2021 | Spring 2022

This is our “snapshot year.” Many SACSCOC standards require data from this academic year and this is the year of operation that will receive the most scrutiny from our reviewers.

Fall 2022

Compliance Certification Report is due to SACSCOC on September 8, 2022.

Spring 2023

Our onsite visit is scheduled for March 13-16, 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions

SACSCOC stands for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission oColleges, which is the accrediting body for educational institutions within Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Latin America. (For more information, see