Board of Directors

The UNA Foundation Board of Directors is currently comprised of 32 individuals representing major institutional stakeholder groups including UNA alumni, UNA trustees, UNA faculty and staff, and other distinguished friends of the University. All Board members provide their services to the UNA Foundation without compensation and have otherwise invested philanthropically in the UNA Foundation. Current Foundation Board of Directors are:

  • Marty Abroms
  • Terry Bagwell
  • Richard Cater
  • Sybil Cleveland
  • Weldon Cole
  • Jeffrey Daniel
  • Alex Godwin
  • Robert “Chuck” Hunt
  • Jeffrey “Jeff” Johnson
  • Kenneth “Ken” Kitts, ex officio
  • Bill Lyons
  • David Marbury, IV
  • Macke Mauldin
  • David Muhlendorf
  • Nancy Opler
  • Deborah Bell Paseur
  • Robert Potts
  • Uhland Redd, III
  • Thomas Ross
  • Deborah Shaw, executive director, ex officio
  • David Shields, ex officio
  • Harry Smith
  • William “Bill” Strong
  • David Sunseri
  • Douglas Tallman
  • John Thornell, ex officio
  • Evan Thornton, ex officio
  • Walter “Rusty” Trapp
  • Woodrow “Woody” Truitt
  • Kristy Van Rensselaer, ex officio
  • Tom White
  • William G. Cale, Jr., Emeritus


  • Ken Kitts - Chair
  • Evan Thornton - Treasurer
  • Deborah Shaw - Secretary