UNA Pressroom

Steve Holt, Doug Barrett Named Honorary Members Of Delta Mu Delta

Mar. 19, 2009

Michelle Eubanks, UNA, at media@una.edu, 256.765.4392 or 256.606.2033

FLORENCE, Ala. - Steve Holt, president of the Shoals Chamber of Commerce, and Dr. Doug Barrett, chair of the UNA Department of Economics and Finance, were recently named honorary members of the Delta Mu Delta international honor society in business administration.

Delta Mu Delta, founded in 1913, is the highest national recognition a business student can earn. The honor society, affiliated with the Association of College Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), fulfills the purpose of promoting higher scholarship in training for business and to recognize and reward scholastic attainment in business subjects. Delta Mu Delta membership provides recognition for a lifetime.

Holt had served as CEO of chambers of commerce in Asheville, N.C., Kingsport, Tenn., and Morristown, Tenn., before coming to the Shoals Chamber of Commerce in 1994. He is a past president and board member of the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce Executives and former board member of the North Carolina Chamber of Commerce Executives. He is a past president of the East Tennessee Industrial Development Association and a past chairman of the Chamber of Commerce Association of Alabama.

A native of Morristown, Holt holds a B.S. degree in political science and public administration from the University of Tennessee. He is a Certified Chamber Executive (CCE), a Certified Economic Developer (CEcD) and a Certified Professional Community and Economic Developer (PCED). He and his wife, Susie, have five children.

Barrett, who has served at UNA since 1997, teaches in the field of quantitative methods and business statistics. He holds a B.B.A. degree from the University of Montevallo and an M.S. and Ph.D. from The University of Alabama. While at Alabama, he was named Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant and Outstanding Graduate Student in Statistics.

Barrett maintains an active research agenda and is involved in a variety of organizations and committees at UNA. He is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society. He also works closely with his department's faculty members in support of SOBIE (The Society of Business, Industry, and Economics) and JOBIE (The Journal of Business, Industry, and Economics).

UNA students recently named to Delta Mu Delta include:


  • CORINTH, Miss. - Richard Edward Leatherwood Jr.
  • FLORENCE - Brittany Ann Askew, Laura Elizabeth Bunt, Brittany Green, Janekia W. Griffin, Tony Zackary Haddock Jr. and Crystal L. Lash
  • KILLEN - William James Batson
  • MUSCLE SHOALS - Zoie E. Hill
  • ROGERSVILLE - Stacie Amanda Gatlin
  • SAVANNAH, Tenn. - Natalie S. Violette
  • TOWN CREEK - Andrea Brooke Zills


  • CHANDLER, Ariz. - Matthew VandenHeuvel
  • FLORENCE - Byron Buxton Bower V, Jessica L. Hayes, Khloe Elizabeth Ingle, Darya A. Martin, Seth J. Miller, Leann Giles Walley and Yuliya Zelenskaya
  • HAMILTON - Ana Paula Tavares
  • MOULTON - Adam Ross Parker
  • IUKA, Miss. - Leah Dawson
  • JASPER - Kimberly Duncan
  • PHIL CAMPBELL - Heather Carden and Ryan Weeks
  • SAVANNAH, Tenn. - Brandon E. Young

MBA Students

  • COLUMBIA, Tenn. - Donald L. Kotval
  • DECATUR - Michael B. Allred, Amita A. Kothari and Jimit Pravin Shah
  • DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, Fla. - Curtis Aubrey Anderson
  • EDMOND, Okla. - Nancee Roberson
  • FAYETTE - Matthew James Bennett
  • FLORENCE - Prasanth Ciss Thomas, Hillary Nicole Coats, David L. Draper, Kenneth Ray Herston, Priyadarshani A. Khandare, Malav Shah, Shaik Sheezan, Mia Shu, Jennifer Ann Stringfellow, Rajani Thapa and Sherell Westley
  • GRANGER, Ind. - David C. Stauffer
  • HAMILTON - Joy Sanders Tittle
  • HAMPTON COVE - Leslie Anne Ellis
  • HUNTSVILLE - Candice Rucker Tibbs
  • JACKSONVILLE - Maria F. Dickson
  • JASPER - Joseph Gregory McNorton
  • KILLEN - Erica Leigh Springer
  • LEOMA, Tenn. - Teresa Diane Purcell
  • LUTZ, Fla. - Robert S. Bennett
  • MADISON - Jennifer K. McDougal
  • MAGNOLIA, Texas - Johnny Coy Reaves
  • MIRAMAR, Fla. - Wallace F. Revels
  • MUSCLE SHOALS - Christopher Bradley Holt, Diane C. Kutz, Adam Tyler McGee
  • PARIS, Tenn. - John Bostwick
  • PICKERINGTON, Ohio - Dennis H. Swartz
  • SCOTTSBURG - Donna Perkins Smith
  • SHEFFIELD - Janice Deborah Smith
  • ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. - Kathleen Hill
  • WAPAKONETA, Ohio - Heather Marie Martin

About The University of North Alabama

The University of North Alabama is an accredited, comprehensive regional state university offering credential, certificate, baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral programs in the colleges of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering; Business and Technology; Education and Human Sciences; and the Anderson College of Nursing and Health Professions. The first-choice University for more than 10,000 on-campus and online students, UNA is on a bucolic campus in Florence, Alabama, part of the historic and vibrant Shoals region. Lions Athletics, a renowned collegiate athletics program with seven (7) Division II National Championships, is now a proud member of the NCAA Division I’s ASUN Conference. The University of North Alabama is an equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate in the admission policy on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, disability, age, or national origin. For more: www.una.edu and www.una.edu/unaworks/